The 25 Hours of Halloween went well. We managed a second place (of only four teams) in our division. But it was good enough to take home a pint glass. Riding at night was fun. On top of that we were blessed with a full moon and decent weather. The team members kept things mellow, but we managed to lay down some decent lap times. What amazed me were the dudes racing in the solo category. Solid. Also very cool was a team racing on a Project Rwanda bike (scroll to the bottom of the link for a good pic). The whole team shared one bike, so when they came in there was some seat adjusting and they were off. I think they may have been faster than us. Mildly embarassing.
I did have a couple of lessons learned: 1) Bring warm stuff to sleep in. I slept in the bed of my truck and woke up with a coat of ice on my sleeping bag! I know, in California of all places! 2) Bring many changes of clothes. Sweaty clothes don't dry well when it's dark and cool. It's hard to get your race face on when you are pulling on stinky, clammy clothes at 3 AM.
I'd do it again though. Currently tossing around the idea of a 12 hour race in Temecula later this year...
No comments:
Post a Comment